Clock on 3rd gen

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by Rckslick333, Mar 24, 2020.

  1. Rckslick333

    Rckslick333 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Anyone know a lot about the clocks on the 3rd gens? Mine only works when the key is on and you have to set the time and as soon as you shut it off it resets the time thanks :)
     
  2. Allyance

    Allyance Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,406
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    East Bay, California
    Map
    Sounds like someone has re-wired the power to the instrument cluster, don't know if there is a separate power lead that is hot all the time, or if there a small battery in the cluster that keeps the clock running.
     
  3. Rckslick333

    Rckslick333 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The clock appears to be its own entity entirely. I thought there would be an internal battery for the clock but there’s nothing there :(
     
  4. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    Don't know too much about Gen3's but not normally a battery I wouldn't think... should be power to the cluster at all times to keep the clock in time. Have you unplugged the cluster to refresh the connections, might help. If power getting there, you'll have to dig further into the cluster circuits... might get a clue from the wiring diagram?
     
  5. Allyance

    Allyance Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,406
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    East Bay, California
    Map
    I agree, I never heard of a battery in any cluster. There must a voltage drop to the cluster when the key is off, good advice to check all connectors to the cluster for corrosion. (Do the stator/RR too)
     
  6. Motleyfan

    Motleyfan New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    I have the optional Honda clock on my bike. It will be on all the time. If it's not then something is wrong with your wiring.
     
  7. Rckslick333

    Rckslick333 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I completely forgot to reply to this, after pulling the fuse cover the damn fuse is missing. It’s funny that the clock still operates without the fuse as long as the bike is on!!
     
Related Topics

Share This Page