First Oil Change

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by baker5, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. RobVG

    RobVG Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Seattle
    Map
    i'd be leary using one on an aluminum filter head.
     
  2. 4corsa

    4corsa New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I agree. My next step would have been to use my giant torque wrench if I needed more leverage.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
     
  3. thx1138

    thx1138 New Member

    Country:
    Australia
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    Map
    Would a torque hammer and screw driver be useful in this situation ?
     
  4. usedkubotaman

    usedkubotaman New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Did my first oil change today. Like everyone else, my filter was very tight. I was able to get it off with an overgrown set of channel locks without a lot of trouble. Question: When I refilled the bike it took 3 1/2 quarts to bring it to the correct level in the site glass. I know the manual calls for 3.3 liters. Anyone else run into this?
     
  5. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    What is 31/2 quarts in metric?

    Just done my own check it's 3.31 litres.
     
  6. usedkubotaman

    usedkubotaman New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oh, now I feel better! Thanks Fink!

    I was figuring that one wrong.
     
  7. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Would be easier if you guys used the same measurements as everyone else. :playful:
     
  8. John O

    John O New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Whidbey Island, WA
    Map
    After several oil changes I've settled on 3 quart containers plus 6 ounces. That's the total after filling, running the engine and topping up. Maybe the quart containers from Honda have a little more than a quart.
     
  9. John O

    John O New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Whidbey Island, WA
    Map
    I asked my neighbors. We ARE using the same measures. The only problem I have is avoiding those pesky "Imperial" gradations on my beakers.
     
  10. Tiutis

    Tiutis New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    Map
    I guess it's my time to vent. Doing my oil change today! Lots of fun! First, I like the fact that you only need to remove the lower fairing piece to access it, but damn once the fairing is off the fun begins. The filter was tight so I was really struggling with that. The problem is that it's really tight between the filter and the fan. Then, once the filter was off, squeezing it between the header and all other stuff requires lots of wiggling. There is also a little house that needs to be bent down to take the filter out.
    I like the idea of prefilling the new filter with oil, but I see it being a messy procedure once I will try to wiggle the new filter up there.
     
  11. Jeff_Barrett

    Jeff_Barrett Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    Map
    I never pre-fill my oil filter ... as long as you don't leave a filter off for too long, you're fine.

    There's enough oil in the heads and pump that it won't lose prime if you've run your engine to operating temperature before doing the oil change provided you don't let the bike sit for an hour draining.
     
  12. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,590
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    I will be doing mine over the next few weeks, once I have the Cbr back together (was doing oil change, new exhaust as well as the usual things you do when buying a second hand bike). will post up how I get on.
     
  13. Ennsync

    Ennsync New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Califonia
    Map
    did my first oil change at dealership they used the 10-30 oil HP4S PRO HONDA,they used three quarts and may be 2 Fl OZ with new filter and cost me around $128.
     
  14. thx1138

    thx1138 New Member

    Country:
    Australia
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Perth
    Map
    Did they at least supply ky and give you a cup of tea afterwards?
     
  15. Lint

    Lint Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4,805
    Likes Received:
    948
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Simi Valley, Ca.
    Map
    [​IMG]

    Did you at least get a kiss and reach around?

    That's absurd!!!
     
  16. Jeff_Barrett

    Jeff_Barrett Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    Map
    Wow. Did they use sand with that anal lube??
     
  17. VF1000Fe

    VF1000Fe New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Alberta
    " Its a Good Thing "

    There should be no need to pre-fill a Oil Filter before Install.
    All these Oil Filters have a Pressure Valve built into the Input side.
    No Oil gets into the Filter on Start-Up, until Pressure builds in the motor First.
    On my 1000cc motors the spec is 12psi.
    Some filters valves are as low as 6psi, some at 18psi.

    If you study the Oil Flow Schematic, you'll see the oil comes out of the pump and goes into the Gear Shafts and Top End first.
    They get oil right away.
    Only after pressure builds (past 12psi) does it get into the Filter. A good scenario.
    Then the filter fills up, and your Oil Level will drop.
    It can get a little more complicated than that, with the Oil Cooler in there too.
    Or in motors with Oil Pressure activated Variable Valve Timing.
    After a short start/run, check Oil Level, add a little more.
    My Oil Pressure Switch is set around 12psi also.

    On my Ford E350 6.0 Diesel-Turdbo, the Filter Canister points down and is a substantial size.
    So I prefill that Filter Canister.
    Damn thing takes 12 liters on a oil change!
    I have to buy oil by the 5gal pail.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2017
  18. Tiutis

    Tiutis New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    Map
    So is pre-filling an oil filter one of those "sounds good/makes sense" ideas that are not actually backed up by any engineering-based best practices?
    I will take your word for it since trying to wiggle a filter full of oil and placing it horizontally while trying to tighten it with two fingers is like some of acrobatics that I have not mastered yet :smile-new:
     
  19. VF1000Fe

    VF1000Fe New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Alberta
    Doesn't hurt.
    Sure, put some in, any amount helps that first start/fill.
    Ideally the Input Valve/Plastic Flap should hold most of it in.
    So it might spill if you put in more than 1/2 and turn it sideways.
    1/2 of that cute little filter is not much oil.
     
  20. Bubba Utah

    Bubba Utah Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,384
    Likes Received:
    323
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Utah
    Map
    Hey Jeff, wouldn't be ideal to let the oil drain for as long as possible after being at running temp to get as much of the old oil out? And If so, would you not want to load the filter up as much as you can to get a cleaner change and save some wear on key components? The reason I ask is because if you do not change your car oil or your bike oil yourself the service companies or dealers are rushing your bike out the door and I think that you are getting a "diluted" oil change and not a proper one. I am concerned that when I had my first change by the dealer and yes got screwed since I did not have my center stand installed yet the I got a "Grey" change of oil. I bought Honda full synthetic oil online and gave that to them to change. They state 6,000 mile for the next one. Should I do another change myself and eat the cost at 2,500 mile knowing that it was a 15 min change and being "Grey" with a breakin still floating around the engine. Let me know or anyone else. Thanks. Mike D.
     
Related Topics

Share This Page