First timer chain & sprocket swap

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by Dudealicious, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Dudealicious

Dudealicious New Member

so in anticipation of Reg's SLO III this weekend and all the additional miles i'll be putting on my bike, i thought it best to swap out the chain. and while i'm in there, i might as well do the sprockets as well.
    surprisingly, the amount of tools required were minimal. there's pretty much only 1 specialized tool and it's the chain breaker/riveting tool. and that only cost abut $40.
    thank you soundmaster31 for your "review" of a suitable and capable chain breaker listed on ebay HERE

to start things off, i've never done this before. but i do consider myself a fairly mechanically inclined individual. i've done all the mods on my bike: helibars, sliders (not a fun mod), PCIII, throttlemeister etc...but naturally i'm a little concerned i'll F it up and have to get my bike towed to a mechanic in utter disgrace and watch him laugh at my inability. but at the same time i'm confident that if he can do it, why can't i? what gives him the right to charge me $85/hour for something i can (easily?) do myself?

so off comes what i perceive to be everything that's obstructing my view of the chain and sprockets. BAM, hurdle #1, the damn chain guard is not easily removed. sure there's 2 allen screws in the front and 2 plastic phillips screws in the back, but they're not easily accessible. so i concluded you don't really need to remove the back screws. it's plastic. it bends. problem solved.
    moving along i decided it's probably much easier to loosen the front sprocket bolt while the chain is still on. actually i can't really see a way to do it otherwise because that sum-bitch is torqued down with about 40 lbf-ft. so remember kids, remove front sprocket center bolt while old chain is still in tact! i need to access/see the front sprocket. 4 or 5 8mm bolts later, there she is, and ugh, is she ugly.