Flat Tire 60 miles from home.

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by Maggot, Jul 23, 2012.

1. Maggot

Maggot New Member

United States
    Map
    Yesterday, I was about 60 miles from home when I got a flat tire. I was doing about 60 on a two lane country road in Racine County WI. I didn't hear anything and I didn't feel anything. I just noticed that the steering was a little stiff and wanted to stay straight. Almost like I had a steering dampener that wanted fo hold the handlebars straight.

When I slowed for the stop sign I could then feel a vibration comming from the rear tire. After stopping for the sign I pushed the bike into the shady driveway of a farm house.

The good news was I was carring my Pocket Tire Plugger kit. Tire plugs, tools and four co2 cartriges. I have never used this kit before so I hoped it would work. After putting the bike on the center stand I looked for the hole. I figured I would see a nail, but couldn't find anything. After rotating the tire about 5 times I finally found a puncture in the base of a tire groove almost dead center in the tire. I could see the impression of a round head bolt in the smooth part of the rubber. I figured the tire ran over this bolt and tipped it up directly into the tire groove forcing it through the tire. After it did its damage the bolt must have gotten launched from the tire.

1000 miles of wear on a brand new set of Roadsmart II's. #@$%!&*%#@!