Genmar riser fitment

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by Tyz, Feb 19, 2020.

1. Tyz

Tyz New Member

United Kingdom
    hi all,
    I've just purchased a set of Genmar bar risers for my Gen 5 VFR800 to add a bit more comfort for a touring trip i have planned in a few months. The instructions state that some owners drop their forks by 10mm. Having searched the topic some do this for improved steering (5mm seems more common for stability trade off?) but others were also concerned about the lack of 'clamping' force applied on the fork leg with riser in place? I don't need racer light steering, I'm more concerned with safety and comfort. Being a complete novice to this modification I would welcome any advice from owners who have added risers and their experiences please.
    Thanks in advance

2. Norse

Norse New Member

Denmark
    I have the same type of risers on my Gen5. Been riding with them most of last year.
    No need to worry about clamping force. As long as the bars are far enough on the fork, that the clamping bolt is not above it, it will be solid.
    Even picked up the bike after finding it on its side in a car park, lifting only by the bars and zero movement in the bars.

How far (if at all) you drop the fork, is really down to personal preference. As long as you are zero and the commonly accepted maximum, you will be fine. The risers won't affect the geometry of the bike after all. Only your position on it.

3. Tyz

Tyz New Member

United Kingdom
    Thanks For the reply Norse, much appreciated. I'll be fitting them at the weekend. How the do you find them from the standard fitment?

4. Norse

Norse New Member

Denmark
    I really like them. They give just enough lift to make the riding position more comfortable for long rides, but not so much that you can't get your chin on the tank.