Gipro gear indicator

Discussion in '6th Generation 2002-2013' started by speedpoker, Jun 6, 2009.

  1. speedpoker

    speedpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got this setup. Seems to work as described. That is one thing I missed with passing on the CB700SC is the gear indicator.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. jay956

    jay956 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia, United States
    can you explain to me why you wanted it? i dont understand them
     
  3. speedpoker

    speedpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Besides just being extremely attracted to red lights it tells me what gear I am in with a simple glance. Sometimes I ride with earplugs because my helmet is a flipup one and pretty noisy and sometimes I ride without earplugs. Determining gear by engine noise can be tough. If smart I could probably calculate by engine rpm and speed reading but I am lazy furthermore I never remember what gear I am in. Also I was hoping with the indicator that it would find the long lost 7th gear I always look for. No luck there. And I like gadgets. How much that plays into it is anyones guess.
     
  4. jay956

    jay956 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia, United States
    just curious because ive never found myself wanting to know what gear im in. as long as im in the right one i dont care.
     
  5. speedpoker

    speedpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya I hear you but I have a hard time knowing if I am in the right one. On tours I have found myself riding for long periods of time in 5th thinking I was in 6th. Gas millage thing. Also while in 6th I often try to shift up to 7th. It makes me feel stupid. Like darn I should have known I was in 6th already!!
     
  6. speedpoker

    speedpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Little off topic but I feel I have been doing all the explaining and not getting any answers. If someone could explain the need for Mac computers or single speed mountain bikes that would be great.
     
  7. Interceptor1

    Interceptor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec
    "It makes me feel stupid."

    Who care, I am planning to order one too. Is it difficult to install? Just plugging I guess. :biggrin:
     
  8. speedpoker

    speedpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As for the feeling stupid thing I just don't like to feel stupid. Its not like I at the next stop take off my helmet and go bash my head into the nearest tree 7 times or anything like that. As for the install its a bit of a pain but not too bad at all. You have to take both fairings off and locate the ECU and the plugs on the other side. Connect the plugs on the left and use the splice thing on the right to tap into ECU rpm wire. Then just rout the wires and stick the indicator on the dash. If you need any help with any of it feel free to ask.
     
  9. Interceptor1

    Interceptor1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec
    Tanks very much. :smile:
     
  10. monk69

    monk69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Danville,Va.
    Looks good.... Did you drill a hole in the dash to mount it?.... If so is there anything to look out for on the other side, as the drill goes though?...... And what did you wire it to?...... Monk
     
  11. speedpoker

    speedpoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, no I just pealed the cover off the sticky back and stuck it there. Seems to be on there pretty good. As for wiring it is not that bad. It has quick connectors that go right in and on the ecu side you just tap into one wire coming out of the ecu loom. The directions were pretty straight forward. The new x-type Gipro which I have is smaller than others apparently so it fits pretty well on the dash.
     
  12. sound wave

    sound wave New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    speedpoker, did it come with instructions specific for the vfr? if so, could you please scan and post it? i was thinking of getting this too.

    thanks.
     
  13. Knife

    Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Downingtown, PA 19335
    I put this on my shopping list. Thanks for the nudge!
     
  14. eddie cap

    eddie cap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Valley Forge, Pa
    Gear Position Indicator

    Hi All; Yes I think a gear selector indicator is a good thing,I know a few years ago the
    Suzuki GSXR came stock with one,however I am not sure if they still do. Also what
    does something like this cost? thanks ed
    P.S. I forever am trying to shift into seventh gear so I do believe it would be
    $$$ well spent!
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2009
  15. bat-stang

    bat-stang New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    H-Town Texas
    I like that trinket myself... sometimes when Im feeling technical I have to count down to be sure I don't stick first gear cause I thought I was in sixth and I was in fifth... Sometimes I imagine myself a racer, trying to pick perfect line, perfect, speed-- then I have to <dodge> other users of public roads and it throws me off a bit. Being able to look down and see what gear Im in would help. People choose mac because it is more creativity driven; ie musicians, web site builders, artists, think its easier to use than pc. Also, less viruses for mac, they all seem to be aimed at pc. Don't have an answer for the single speed mtb question...
     
  16. VFRstar

    VFRstar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Map
    One reason I want one was an article I read. It recomended to use the "warning speed limit" to determine what gear to be in when cornering. So if it says you should take a corner at 30, you should be in third gear and use the throttle alone to slow down. I haven't tried this yet because I never know what gear I'm in.
     
  17. V4 Dude

    V4 Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I liked the gear indicator on my old '85 Nighthawk 650 so I can see why someone would want to have it.

    As of the Mac, IMO they are less annoying than a Windows PC.

    As for the single speed MTB, it's the challenge and the simplicity. SS bikes make you think about conservation of momentum and have fewer components to cause problems.

    I never thought about it but a Mac and a SS mountain bike have common traits, simplicity and reliability.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2009
  18. Echo3Niner

    Echo3Niner New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Chicagoland, NW - IN
    Map
    +1 I often am not sure which gear I am in before a corner, and I try to shift into 7th also, from time to time... Must be a special shift mechanism...

    Question, is it quick? In other words, does it have a delay where it has to wait until I let out the clutch, or does it read it as you shift, even if shifting down several gears at once?
     
  19. sound wave

    sound wave New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    is there any room under the gauge pod cover to give it a clean install? if possible i would want to give it an oem look.
     
  20. sound wave

    sound wave New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    i just did this mod, so i can answer my own question... no, there is no room under the gauge pod cover. i was going to modify the cover next to the gauge pods, but it seemed that it would be covered often by the brake fluid reservoir, so i just attached mine the same way speedpoker did.

    for the bikes 06+, it just attaches to this red plug under the little cover (right meter panel) to the right of the gauge pod. all that is needed to install it is to remove that meter panel. i had my lower fairings off because i also did some other mods at the same time. here is a pic of the red connector the gi pro attaches to:

    [​IMG]

    literally a one-connector install. very simple. nothing exciting, but here is how it came packaged:
    [​IMG]
     
Related Topics

Share This Page