GP Shift - Has Anyone Figure Out How To Do It

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by Herricane, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. Ricko600

    Ricko600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sidney, BC
    I understand. It isn't clear that you both: 1. Flipped the gearbox splined lever 180 degrees AND 2. Swapped the QS linkage front to back. I think #2 will require adding additional control wire because the OEM wiring is a perfect fit and there isn't enough slack to route the wire is the QS switch is at the rear of the linkage rather than at the front in OEM installation. Did you flip both 180 degrees and re-wire? If so, you're saying it didn't work? Thanks.
     
  2. Allyance

    Allyance Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    East Bay, California
    Map
    I have looked at this alot, here is my take:
    [​IMG]
    Stock setup, LIFTING shift lever PUSHES on linkage (flipping 180 degrees will not change action)
    [​IMG]
    GP Shift: Rotate arm 180 degrees so that it is on the bottom.
    Pushing shifter causes it to PULL on linkage to rotate shaft to upshift. QS switch will not work.
     
  3. Ricko600

    Ricko600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sidney, BC

    Right. So, in addition, I think you need to reverse direction of QS linkage by swapping it end for end from stock. Have you tried that? I haven't but will try it. Not a trivial change as it requires a change of both connector ends of the QS linkage AND adding wire to lengthen the harness. Did you do that?
    Thanks.
     
  4. Allyance

    Allyance Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    East Bay, California
    Map
    Sorry I have not tried anything because I don't need to. Logic: put a straw into a cold drink, take a sip. Turn the straw around 180 degrees (end for end) and take a sip, still works the same. Moving the arm on the shaft 180 degrees, changes the force required from a push on the arm by the linkage to a pull on the linkage qs switch requires a push.
     
  5. Ricko600

    Ricko600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sidney, BC
    A one direction switch is not a two way straw. Reversing the direction of the QS LINKAGE changes the force back to a push. I just wanted to know if you had changed the linkage direction and changed the wiring length. I'll give it a try. Thanks.
     
  6. willphmoto

    willphmoto New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So Just got a 8th gen VFR. with a factory QS. and I havent seen any threads on successfully doing GP shift with the QS yet.
    And this thread seems to have died off.... Any success?

    Would this work? this would switch it to GP shift, AND still give the correct "push" in on the linkage when you upshift by pressing down (gp).
    Any confirmation?

    I think the challenge now is to get a custom shifter made. or somehow flip the oem shifter. my bike still is in another province, I go and get it next week so I havent actually looked at it physically yet. Just from photos. (grabbed this photo on internet and then used high tech ms paint)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Allyance

    Allyance Insider

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    East Bay, California
    Map
    There was a-lot of discussion on this topic a year ago, I remember looking at mine, and couldn’t see an easy way to make it work.
     
  8. willphmoto

    willphmoto New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you look at the attached photo in my post? Thoughts?
     
  9. OOTV

    OOTV Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    875
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca.
    Flip the lever that is connected to the shaft and see if that will work with what you have (shaft length would be my concern). Essentially it’s the same concept as your drawing suggests, just from a different side. I have aftermarket rear sets on my 5 Gen and this is how I changed mine from GP shift to standard.
     
  10. smoke4ndmears

    smoke4ndmears New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Map
    This is totally doable. I havent had my VFR for a few years but I had this working for the entire time I owned it.

    I'm on mobile now but will post pictures later. I ended up using a dynojet switch, some parts from Woodcraft, and shaft arm flipped over.

    This link might work https://photos.app.goo.gl/cCAnVGArjTsUMtrH7
     
Related Topics

Share This Page