How to upload pictures to VFRWorld

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box' started by reg71, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. reg71

    reg71 Poser Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,656
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atascadero, California, United States
    Map
    1. Click "Photos" in the red menu bar up atop any page and then you should see a screen similar to this:
    [​IMG]

    2. Click the words "Upload Photos" near the upper right (see pic) and you should see a screen similar to this:

    [​IMG]

    3. On that screen click the "Browse" button to find a file on your computer to upload.
    4. You should get a requester similar to the one below to find your file and then click "Open".

    [​IMG]

    5. The name of the file you selected should appear in the string gadget left of the "Browse" button.

    [​IMG]

    6. Click the "Upload/Submit" button if all looks well so far. Note: You can upload multiple files by repeating steps 3 and 4.

    7. Once the file(s) are uploaded you will be given the opportunity to describe and or list keywords for each picture. When finished, click "Process" and your files should be on VFRWorld.
     
  2. freewheelburner

    freewheelburner New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Union Dale, Pennsylvania, United States
    reg is not alone we have both uploaded tons of photos in the past but I cannot now something is wrong...help
     
  3. reg71

    reg71 Poser Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,656
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atascadero, California, United States
    Map
    you mean something has changed and your uploads are not going through now? I haven't uploaded lately so I haven't noticed anything. you are the first to mention it to me.
     
  4. crustyrider

    crustyrider New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,012
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Country, New York
    Map
  5. jay956

    jay956 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia, United States
    i tried to upload some stuff when i first joined but it wouldnt work, so i just said screw it.
     
  6. freewheelburner

    freewheelburner New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Union Dale, Pennsylvania, United States
    I'm not sure what is up I ahve never had a problem in the past but I have been trying for weeks and no go error code2 any suggestions
     
  7. derstuka

    derstuka Lord of the Wankers Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Map
    Hmmm....double check your file size, as it could be too large. Have you tried "hotlinking"from another site? That is my favorite way.

    Right click on a picture somewhere, select properties, then copy the URL address. Now click on the little yellow postage stamp looking button with mtns on it above. Once this prompt opens, paste the URL address to it. Like so.

    [​IMG]


    If practice with a lot of hard work and determination, well, someday you will become a professional "poseur" like me! Isn't that something to strive for?? :loco:
     
  8. crustyrider

    crustyrider New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,012
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Country, New York
    Map

    hey STuka, I tyhink what really sets off this picture is the small glint of light off the tank........or its the flames coming out your arse....not sure wich one REALLY captures the true essence of the bike........
     
  9. reg71

    reg71 Poser Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,656
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atascadero, California, United States
    Map
    most likely those of you experiencing errors are trying to upload large file sizes. VFRworld auto limits the size of uploads to decrease our bandwidth use. if we let a large file be uploaded before it is cropped to a workable size then we still lose that amount of bandwidth taking the file before vfrworld converts it so it is more convenient for the board's users if picture posters reduce the size before sending it...
     
  10. freewheelburner

    freewheelburner New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Union Dale, Pennsylvania, United States
    Reg I will check the size. what should the size be
     
  11. reg71

    reg71 Poser Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,656
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atascadero, California, United States
    Map
    Well, I generally make them 800x600 but I'm not sure how big Michael has us set up to allow. I do know that youbcan upload them to photobucket in a larger size ans link them into your post, but if you make them larger than 1024x768, then most users have to scroll the message both up and down and side to side to see your pic.
     
  12. crustyrider

    crustyrider New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,012
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Country, New York
    Map

    800x600 is perfect size reggie....so says my two photography teachers ever turn in had to be 800x 600
     
  13. reg71

    reg71 Poser Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,656
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Location:
    Atascadero, California, United States
    Map
    I like it because my resolution is set just a little larger than that so I can make the browser full size and scroll through a message and not have to scroll side to side until I get to a post from RVFR. Mostly, if a pic bleeds off the side of my screen I just skip it, though. I try to be bandwidth conscious when possible because I have been on the net since I was using a 9600 baud modem and I remember what happened when aol finally allowed their users on to the internet and their "ignorance" of bandwidth limitations brought the net to a crawl. It took the internet backbone 5 years or better to achieve speeds that seemed comparable to what they had been before they came online. The e-mails of true color high resolution pics was just ridiculous up until broadband became standard. So I suppose one could argue that ignorance drove the technology in a way.
     
  14. freewheelburner

    freewheelburner New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Union Dale, Pennsylvania, United States
    Well now i cannot get the pics that were too large out of my que so I cannot download the smaller ones how do I get them out of there now I am really confused. I went into my pics on my computer and put them in phototshop to change there size then tried to download them and the ones i had tried long ago are still there for some reason why are they still there if i cancelled the process?
     
Related Topics

Share This Page