ignition switch?

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by Drod, Apr 14, 2021.

  1. Drod

    Drod New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone have a spare ignition switch for my '86 VFR700F2? they seem to be pretty hard to come by even aftermarket ones. Found some sellers in UK but they say they are different than mine for the US version, thanks dave
     
  2. Captain 80s

    Captain 80s Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    Map
    Emgo 40-15840. They can be had for $20.

    For the 1987 CBR600, but I'm pretty sure the casting is the same. Might have to change locations of the wires in the plug.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Drod

    Drod New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for your input, i'm checking on the differences, am i told it's needs 6 wire version
    I know emgo used to have one for the vfr, guess they don't supply it anymore
     
  4. Captain 80s

    Captain 80s Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    Map
    I'll bet it's workable with some careful examination of which wires are there compared to the stock unit. Most of the time it is just looping certain wires back into the main wire harness for power somewhere. You could probably unpin some wires from the original switch. I adapt different ignition and handle bar switches all the time.
     
  5. squirrelman

    squirrelman Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,818
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Map
    one wire is likely for the parking light, a nearly useless feature that can drain the battery.
     
  6. lsc86

    lsc86 New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    Map
    Trying to visualize specifically the VFR-II control block, but as mentioned above, IIRC my VF500 unit was virtually he same as like the Nighthawk S of that era and other 80s Honda units. Might be able to find something off another mid-80s Honda easier than a specific VFR unit.

    Capt80s (and others) have done some nice upgrades to newer style units as well if you're not opposed to using other Honda parts. Capt80s RestoMod thread, posts #50-56 range, show his controls switch pics nicely.
     
  7. Drod

    Drod New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm trying to find that resto mod thread....i'm not opposed to using anything that might work...it's tough finding oem parts
     
  8. Drod

    Drod New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    do you know how many wires are at the end? is it a 6 wire? also how different is the CBR one?

    my mechanic cleaned the ground so it's a little better, but sometimes turn the key and nothing, then jiggle a little and it comes on
     
  9. Captain 80s

    Captain 80s Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    Map
    My point was that it is VERY likely workable by splitting power from a switched supply coming out of the new switch to the 6th wire on your bike's harness plug (if it's even needed!!!) You might also have to re-arrange some of the connectors on the new switch plug to better match the old one. Honda usually uses the same colors for functions. The CBR switch will come with the correct 6 terminal plug, they just might not be all occupied.

    Shit, usually just connecting the Red and Red/Blk will give you full power everywhere on 80's Hondas.

    I believe that CBR switch would bolt in exactly like the original. That casting design was used on A LOT of Hondas.

    If none of this makes sense, then keep looking for a direct replacement that you can just plug in.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2021
Related Topics

Share This Page