Installing 12V accessory power fuse block

Discussion in '8th Generation 2014-Present' started by signal, Apr 2, 2020.

  1. signal

    signal Definitely Not New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I would like to install a fuse block, and from there I can install accessories. I assume our bikes don't already have a fuse block with available spots to use.

    My preferred fuse block on bikes is the Fuze Blocks FZ-1:
    https://www.fuzeblocks.com/Fuzeblocks-FZ-1-Distribution-Block_p_1.html

    You simply run a power lead to the battery, a ground, and then you need a 12V trigger wire so you can hook up connections for "switched" power. Does anyone know a good trigger wire to tap? Usually with the FZ1 you use Positaps, which are an interesting way to tap a wire without crimping or compromising the connection.

    If anyone has installed a fuse block please share your experiences (where did you install it? Switched power? If so what did you tap into? What do you have running on it?)
     
  2. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    If you give me a while Ill see if I can find pictures of the install on my bike.
    I have used his PC-8 fuse box from Eastern Beaver and find it far better than the FZ1. Jim is a great guy.

    No need to use pozitaps for your trigger, as there is a plug you can utilise on the bike (all you need do is purchase the connector from the above).

    I'm just back in after nightshift so need to head to bed for a few hours kip.
    Managed to find this on my pc.
    DSC_3133_zpsfifulmjd.JPG
     
  3. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    I like the PC8 as well, a trigger wire can be from tail light/licence plate light or anything that comes on when the key is turned on. Very low draw, you are just activating a relay.
     
  4. NorcalBoy

    NorcalBoy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5,423
    Likes Received:
    546
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Desert Southwest
    Map
    Eastern Beaver is the best in this segment, hands down. The ability to order the wire lengths and have the system custom made for your specific moto saves a ton of time installing the system and makes for a much cleaner install. Because I didn't need a PC8 system on my current moto, I ordered one of his 3CS-S, all switched, sealed systems. Shipped from Japan this past Monday. So much easier than trying to source all the bits and pieces and assemble it yourself. Just plug it in and it works.

    Some pics of the older custom length EB Centech system and Powerlet socket mounted on the upper cowl inner infill panel on an 06.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Relay trigger wire on taillight wire

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. signal

    signal Definitely Not New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks, I appreciate it. Is the plug you speak of the one for the 12V accessory plug option? That option is installed on my bike, so it may be "used".
     
  6. signal

    signal Definitely Not New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you all, I will look toward the Eastern Beaver solutions. I already have an optimate plug for charging on this new bike. On my 2003 I had a constant powerlet for use/charging, and a switched one in the steering stem for USB/voltmeter. Right now I just want to add a Powerlet to the steering stem, where I will keep my voltmeter and use USB charging for my phone. I may add more in the future but not sure.

    If anyone has done a wire run from the Steering Stem, any tips on where/how to route the wire? I figure under the pillion is a good place to put a fuse box, but if there are better locations please advise.
     
  7. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    If you have a standard relay, one that has a center 87 terminal, that will have constant connecton for a Battery Tender, until you turn the ignition on, then it disconnects....... I see it as a good thing,
     
  8. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Ive done one of them too. Will post up later on .
     
  9. NorcalBoy

    NorcalBoy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5,423
    Likes Received:
    546
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Desert Southwest
    Map
    I suggest mounting the fuse block as close as possible to where you are going to be connecting the accessories, otherwise you're gonna have a rats nest of wires running all over the machine. The more you add, the more chances of something going sideways in the future.
     
  10. FJ12rydertoo

    FJ12rydertoo Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Platte City, MO
    Map
    I installed a Blue Sea fuse box on mine. A little bulky, but it was before I came across the stuff from
    Eastern Beaver. I have one of their fuse boxes too, but really like the Blue Sea, even if it is pretty
    large.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2020
  11. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Or just channel down one of the frame spars as you can do on the 8th gen.
     
  12. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Here are some pics I managed to find on my Pc, also took some more this morning.
    Package as it comes from Eastern Beaver.
    DSC_3064.JPG

    The idea was to install under the rear seat latch (stays dry which is good for a wet Scotland).
    DSC_3103.JPG
    Connected up to the accessory socket to get the trigger for the relay. The socket is the white one with the black tape behind the fusebox.
    DSC_3116.JPG


    Starting to assemble the fusebox. It has 6 switched and 2 permanent lives.
    DSC_3133.JPG
    Routing down the right (Throttle) side of bike to relay,battery and accessory socket.
    DSC_3136.JPG
    20200404_103606.jpg
    You can see the relay fuse next to battery Positive. Ignore the black connector as that was my original trigger switch.
    DSC_3134.JPG

    Fusebox location.


    DSC_3139.JPG

    A bit of acrylic screwed into posts either side provide the base for my Autocom.
    20200404_103409.jpg

    DSC_3140.JPG
    Cig socket and 2x usb port.
     
  13. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Part 2
    Cig socket and 2x usb port.
    20200404_103140.jpg

    Routing to the front of bike follow left frame rail to front of bike, there is loads of space.
    DSC_3114.JPG

    Excuse the birds nest, cables that cant be cut , plenty of space under battery cover.
    20200404_103539.jpg

    I hope these pictures are a help.
    If your accessory socket is in use you can make up a link piece with an extra wire, which will save a pozi tap.
     
  14. signal

    signal Definitely Not New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks this is helpful. What do you mean by "make up a link piece"? My bike has the factory 12V socket installed. If there is a clean way so I don't have to crimp/splice or positap that would be preferred.
     
  15. rhoderage

    rhoderage New Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    Map
  16. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Yes there is a way you make up an additional harness and add in an extra lead. I’ll post something up when I can find one of my pictures.
     
  17. signal

    signal Definitely Not New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is what I got back from Eastern Beaver. They do not make a VFR800F harness, but they have one for the VFR1200:

    "Hi Brian,
    This is Dave...the guy who builds the kits.
    Here are the measurments for the kit we make for the VFR1200:

    From the positive battery terminal to where the PC8 box sits is 19 inches.
    The switching lead that plugs into the bike is 60 inches...thats from the kits
    relay to the 6 pin plug on the bike.
    You should also check the 6 pin connector to see which wires are the ground and
    12v switched....on the VFR1200 the bottom right is the 12v switched and bottom
    left is the ground....it should be located front left.

    Useing the info above you will need to measure your bike and locate the 6 pin
    aux connector to see if our kit fits.
    Hope that helps...Dave for EB"​

    Is the 6 pin connector on our bikes the same as the VFR1200? Would I essentially use the same harness, or should there be any changes?
     
  18. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Vfr12 harness is different.

    Why not make it up yourself it’s easy enough to do, that’s what I did, that way you can tailor it exactly to your bike.
     
  19. signal

    signal Definitely Not New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just trying to not reinvent the wheel. I was hoping someone has already built this. If I could use a Y connector of some sorts at least grab the switched connection, thats probably all I need.
     
  20. fink

    fink Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    414
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ardnamurchan Penninsula, Scotland
    Map
    Give me a chance and I’ll put up a picture of the switching harness that I used to make to give you an idea.If you let me know I’ll even draw you a wiring diagram if you like.

    I’m going onto days off tomorrow ( Wednesday) so I’ll post up a picture of what I’m talking about.
     
Related Topics

Share This Page