Looking to buy. Is this an OK deal?

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by okiengr, Jun 14, 2006.

1. okiengr

okiengr New Member

I am finally out of college and have a job now so that I can pay for that VFR that I have wanted for 4 years now. I have been looking around, but they are hard to find in the Kansas/OKlahoma area. I am new to the VFR world and have not been around them much so I don't really know exactly what to watch out for when buying. There is one I have found close somewhat close by and here are some features of it:

1999 VFR
    Power Commander II
    Two brother C5 titanium slip on
    K&N air and oil filter
    Fox twin clicker rear shock
    Rocket locker soft tail bag
    magnetic tank bag
    clear tank protectors
    Rear seat cowl
    New tires
    Heated grips
    Krypto Front rim lock
    Battery tender
    New chain
    19212 miles
    Comes with new matching jacket
    Never dropped and claims it is in immaculate condition with a perfect service history. Driven mostly highway and not abused or raced. Owned by mature riders. He's asking $5500 for it.

I have seen some that are priced lower with less miles but aren't within driving distance to me. From the pictures it looks like a great bike and I may go try to look at it this weekend. Is this price on the higher side or is it worth close to that? What should I look out for if I go look at it? This will be my first VFR so I don't want to feel like I paid too much or got a bad bike or something. I just want one that has been upkept and cared for in good shape. My last bike (yamaha 600) was a pain because I was constantly having to change plugs and what not and I felt I paid too much for it. I just don't want that to happen again. Your input is appreciated.

BTW: I am only looking to buy the '98-'01 model. Thanks

2. Rhinoware

Rhinoware New Member

United States
    Map