Mission VF 750F 2012 Restore

Discussion in '1st & 2nd Generation 1983-1989' started by rainman6, Jan 14, 2012.

1. rainman6

rainman6 New Member

Map
    Mission VF 750F "85" Restore

I have taken on my mission project for 2012. To restore a sad VF750 back to its glory days . I will take photos as I go, and probably ask you folk lots of questions as I am new to this.
    The updates will come slowly as I plan to be entertained all year over this mission - although once I get started...

Here she is on day one - Looks rough but other than a spongy front brake and two mufflers that are not clamped onto header pipes and leaking very badly / noisy everything seems to work OK. No oil mods and 56,000km. Cams maybe sad but don't know yet

+ Xmas 2011 026.jpg Xmas 2011 027.jpg

Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  2. rainman6

rainman6 New Member

Map
    Day Two> The primer was a bit rough and some plastics had cracks in them so I thought I better find out whats under the primer. I slapped on some paint stripper and hit it with the water blaster - found lots of panel beating under the paint and some broken plastic that needs better repairs before starting to re panel beat. From here I need to sort out garage before I start to strip down bike.

Xmas 2011 033.jpg Xmas 2011 032.jpg Xmas 2011 031.jpg Xmas 2011 030.jpg

Last edited: Feb 16, 2012
  3. Dukiedook

Dukiedook New Member

Map
    I think it is pretty safe to say the exhaust configs on the 500 and 750 are very different. What exact year do you have there?

4. rainman6

rainman6 New Member

Map