Need help with turbo

Discussion in 'General VFR Discussions' started by pdub06, May 4, 2006.

1. pdub06

pdub06 New Member

Map
    HI. I am new to motorcycles and i bought a 1992 hond vfr750f last week. Then the other day i bought a car turbo that i wish to put on there. If anyone has done this i would like some help with the mods. Thanks

2. navig8r01

navig8r01 New Member

Map
    First off, ARE YOU NUTS!!. Good, glad I got that off my chest. Second, what type and size of turbo is of great importance. There is little room to play with on any motorcycle...especially a V-Four with the collector at the very belly of the engine. Turbos generally work well with inline 4's because of the added space of being in front of the engine and the space to be utilised behind the lower front wheel. So, unless you have a VERY small turbo that will somehow fit under the belly of the beast, or you are very creative with custom exhaust systems(actually both will be necessary here) any thing is possible. You may be able to create something aft of the collector, but then you will have to be able to route the charge back up to the air box some 3 feet away. BEST OF LUCK and hang on tight if you get it to work!!!

3. pdub06

pdub06 New Member

Map
    Ya i have been told by plenty of people that im crazy. Im not sure on the size of the turbo, it came off some sort of mitusbishi. Ill try and find out. Its fairly bulky. I plan on putting it were the muffler is, and just run everything up front. I have to figure out how and run coolant, oil, and vocuum to it. Also, im not sure where the airbox is? how much psi do u think the stock engine can habdle? 5-10psi? i dont even know if it carbureated or fuel injected? do i have to rejet the carbs if it is? then boost control? i dont know much about turbos, i've worked with superchargers on cars but thats it. Thanks for all and any advice!!!!!!!!!! Cant wait to get it on.:smile:

4. jethro911

jethro911 Member

United States
    Map