Oil Suggestions - General Service

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by MasterP, Jun 24, 2016.

1. MasterP

MasterP New Member

Hello VFR World,

So I've got an interesting weekend ahead of me, I'm replacing the R/R and stator on my 6th gen. While I have the side cowlings off I'm also going to be running general service. You know, checking the coolant, tire pressure, and changing the oil/filter.

Speaking of the latter, do any of you have a suggestion for an oil brand/blend? I have 25,XXX miles on the clock and was wondering if there are any products out there that would be more appropriate for a higher mileage engine.

I'm new to VFRs in general and was wondering how the rest of you like to take care of basic service on your own bike too, any advice as to how I can take better care of mine is more than welcome! I know these bikes can be quirky, so what better folks to ask then all of you!

Attached also, is a picture of my pride and joy. Hope you like it!

11260480_10206323992753467_428578554660122656_n.jpg

Attached Files:

2. Allyance

Allyance Insider

United States
    Map
    Welcome, nice color, there are those here that say Red is the fastest color! I like it.

My preference is Amsoil pure synthetic, if you live in a hot climate, then 10W-40 will work fine. 25K miles is just getting broken in!

3. Expvet

Expvet New Member

United States
    Map
    I use Mobil 1, but have used Amsoil in the past. As long as it is a true synthetic you can't go wrong.

4. Knight

Knight New Member

United States
    Map
    MasterP, welcome! Your bike is a beauty.

This Honda V4 is robust, just like their car engines. Some tourers take this bike from 150,000 to 200,000 miles. So 25,000 miles is low miles for this vehicle. Keep good maintenance habits and you will have no worries.