Ram fork stem mount 5th gen install

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by Cessus, Nov 13, 2015.

  1. Cessus

    Cessus New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    SW VA
    Map
    I bought a stem mount ram xgrip mount and noticed the rubber expansion plug it comes with did not fit the triple tree stem hole of my 5th gen as the hole was too big. After contacting customer service, a rep by the name of anthony told me this seemed to be a common problem with the vfrs and pointed me in the direction of where I could find a dorman 3/4-7/8 expansion plug. Found one @ my local O'reilly's/autostore for 3$. Ditch everything that comes with the dorman rubber expander and use the washer and bolt/nut from the ram kit and it fits perfectly and now all is fine. I hope this post might help someone looking to put an ram stem mount on their vfr in the future.

    I found it listed under p/n : 570-003 and 02608
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2015
    Steve781 likes this.
  2. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
    Just looking in to how mount my phone, I already have the Ram X grip and stem all I need is to fit a ram ball on the Vfr and run a usb power source, I have read about the issues with the stem mount not being tight,

    I've seen this type of mount on ebay that fits at the tank bolts,
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ram-Moun...Base-Plate-AMPS-Hole-2-43-x-1-31/254279717285
    might be more secure but the phone would be lower down by a few inches, probably wouldn't be much of an issue.

    This handlebar mount might also work, just using the top half of it obviously, not sure of the spacing of the bolt holes.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mount-RAM-...vlocphy=20479&hvtargid=pla-424073690153&psc=1

    Any tips on running a usb power source, I already have an optimate charging sae type lead sticking out behind my right knee area.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2020
  3. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
  4. Norse

    Norse New Member

    Country:
    Denmark
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The best fork stem ball mount IMO, is SV-Motech. I have one of those.
    I also have a ball mount fitted to the tank bolts. Just took the ball part of one of those handle bar mounts with the U-shaped thing that goes around the bars. Hole spacing was perfect for the tank bolts. That is the one I use now.

    As for USB.
    I have 2 USB ports and a voltmeter mounted on the side of my dash. Hooked up as a switched circuit with a secondary on/off button under the dash.
    I strongly advise that you do it properly and make a switched circuit with the proper fuse and relay. Don't get lazy and hook it straight to the battery.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2020
    VFRIRL likes this.
  5. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
    Thanks I agree, a switched circuit and relay is the way to go, don't like the idea of cutting holes in the dash so I'll look to se what other options are available,
    do you use your phone as a gps? my samungs screen won't stay lit while on google maps.
    Just bought one of these, RAM Mount RAM-B-238U
    now to figure out the wiring, I have an extra brake light to add and maybe some spotlights on the forks,I'll need to get someone who knows their stuff about electrics to hook everything up for me, I'm ok with mounting the hardware myself.

    I really like those bolts and washers/caps you have at the tank bolts, what are they?
     
  6. Norse

    Norse New Member

    Country:
    Denmark
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have an extra dash (extra fairing actually) so I don't really care. You should be able to find that part pretty cheap, so I would go with that option rather than some of the common add-on solutions that always end up looking like they don't belong.
    My solution looks like something that could have been there from the factory.

    The washers are just some random anodised, countersunk aluminium things I found on Ebay for next to nothing. The bolts are just standard, countersunk M6 bolts.

    I use them for all the points where the fairing is mounted to the frame. Gives a nice bit of contrast on a otherwise all black bike.
     
    VFRIRL likes this.
  7. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
    Can't see your pics now? not sure which usb to go for, want to get a good one, not some cheap crap.
     
  8. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    Once I refine the layout, I'll fit voltmeter, etc. into that dash surround.... they're not a lot of money if you want an original.. lotsa room behind it for wires and I'd like an integrated look rather than add-ons. That said, I do have a dual USB charger that has an integrated switch, it surface mounts, can have it always powered but remember to shut if off when you're done for the day. I have mine somewhere on the handlebars closer to my tank bag so I don't need a mile of USB cords to manage.....
     
  9. Norse

    Norse New Member

    Country:
    Denmark
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    USB is such a basic and old technology that it's almost impossible to get it wrong or make it expensive. So no need to look for overpriced motorcycle specific brand names. Just find something that fits your taste and needs.
    Only thing to be aware of, is getting the standard you need. I assume you want fast charge, so just make sure that whatever you get, supports that.

    The one I have is surface mounted, has 2 fast charge USB ports and a voltmeter. I think it cost me something like 10-12£. And it looks and works great. Then a couple of relays, a fuse holder and a bit of wire. Total cost was probably around 20£
     
    VFRIRL likes this.
  10. WiscoTwisties

    WiscoTwisties New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Friesland, WI
    Map
    I personally like the QuadLock system. They even have a usb charger option you can get incorporated in the mount. I think they have a ball mounting option too but I’m just using their fork stem mount, install is easy, no measuring and cutting like the RAM system and it’s a super low profile
     
  11. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
    Wish I'd gone for the handlebar type mount,
    I got one of these,
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RAM-Moun...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

    the hole spacings aren't near right for the tank bolts, they need to be a quarter inch at least further apart,
    would you have the part/item number of the one you have mounted at the tank bolts? thanks
     
  12. Norse

    Norse New Member

    Country:
    Denmark
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Just get any clamp of this style:
    [​IMG]

    They are made to fit different size bars so the tolerances are less tight. And they are dirt cheap.
    Mine fit straight on with no modifications.
     
    VFRIRL likes this.
  13. Jonah8208

    Jonah8208 New Member

    Country:
    Guernsey
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Map
    I got a 5th Gen, same problem with the fitting for the RAM Mount I bought. I modified it using a chopped up steering head plastic insert which works fine. Since I rarely use navigation (I live on a very small island) I fitted power direct off the battery with an inline fuse which is removed unless I am running the phone nav app, simple but it works for me. I did try tank mounted bags and some complicated bolt on arms on the tank to put the phone in with power, but I found I had to take my eyes off the road too much and with my riding specs on I couldn't see the phone clearly anyway it was far too close. For the sound I have a tiny Avantree Apico Bluetooth earpiece which easily fits in my ear and under my helmet. I hate those BT intercom things with a ton of wiring and a brick mounted on the outside of the helmet.
     
    VFRIRL likes this.
  14. VFRIRL

    VFRIRL New Member

    Country:
    Ireland
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    Map
    I have one of those bt things on my touring helmet, I just bought a nice Hjc rpha 11 fro the vfr so that's a good tip about the small bluetooth earbud.
     
Related Topics

Share This Page