The Drill

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by 34468 Randy, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. RRloves2RRIDE

    RRloves2RRIDE New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    And here is one of the textbook cases
    Learned to jump battery as this failed
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 34468 Randy

    34468 Randy Secret Insider

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC Canada
    Map
    RRloves2RRIDE likes this.
  3. RRloves2RRIDE

    RRloves2RRIDE New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
  4. RRloves2RRIDE

    RRloves2RRIDE New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    I have the rewound stator frm Custom Rewind. They did great job quickly. Been off this thing for 4 weeks and only able to work on it intermittently. Got the SH847 superkit fr Roadster Cycle and am going to solder the stator RR connection in a few. I got the original stator to RR wiring in, and am going to try to follow the RR to charging path. Any helpful tips? It looks a little tight in there.
     
  5. 34468 Randy

    34468 Randy Secret Insider

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,439
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC Canada
    Map
    If you are asking me specifically, no I don't. Asking me to tech advise is like buying a bridge from someone in Arizona. I leave all my works, short of an oil change, to someone who knows what they are doing.
     
  6. mello dude

    mello dude Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,878
    Likes Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Southwest Ohio
    Map
    Hi - So Custom Rewind is still in business? Really interested if this was recent...

    -If your bike is a 6th gen, I have mounting kits for that. Bolt in, no hassle.

    Wiring to current art looks like...
    [​IMG]


    Here's my 5th gen... with a FH020AA, but wiring is the same..
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020
    RRloves2RRIDE likes this.
  7. RRloves2RRIDE

    RRloves2RRIDE New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Thanks for the images. I really appreciate the one on your moto. On the schematic it looks like you have both the old and new wiring, with the new in a bolder black. I follow that.

    Yes Custom Rewind is still in business and doing business. They did a great job getting back to me - really timely and his price was great. Yes, do have a bit of patience on the phone. Gary knows his stuff. He's getting the words a little slow is all. What a trooper.

    Thank you for the info about the plate. Wish I had made contact earlier. My "special plate" from Roadstercycle is not clearing the fairing mount bracket. So off to Home Depot I went on a Sunday PM for a drill bit. Had to use the original RR bolts, and glad I kept them. (6th Gen take note!) I am trying to finish tonight. Northern California morning rides are too good to miss, even if it's to work!

    Found lots of dust in my connections, a frying 30A fuse connector, and chip seal in places I never thought it would reach...Next weekend is a serious cleanup day.
     
  8. mello dude

    mello dude Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,878
    Likes Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Southwest Ohio
    Map
    Thanks for the feedback on Custom Rewind.......

    I need get the word out on my 6th gen mount plates... the Roadstercycle mounting is a abomination and you have to modify it to get it to work. - Mine, bolt up, forget it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020
    jstehman likes this.
  9. RRloves2RRIDE

    RRloves2RRIDE New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Roadstercycle responded right away and offered full refund or to make it right. But since he doesn't have the specific VFR mount specs, it's more difficult to get one engineered from a distance. So kudos for customer service at least.
     
  10. jstehman

    jstehman New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2018
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have one of your plates.

    Top notch work. Install was a breeze thanks to your instructions and the precision placement of the mounting holes. Plus, you get mounting hardware included.

    If you're mounting a Shindengen, and you want the install to look professional, you need to get one of mello dudes plates.





    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2020
    mello dude likes this.
  11. squirrelman

    squirrelman Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,923
    Likes Received:
    448
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Map
    early warning of a problem and possible results......

    june_1_2019_014.JPG.62cc9a2adb1555fa1c5e0f615599b2b5.JPG

    58ddd97ed024f_new031.JPG.7bd3c96fa745f0b6536e6e4a257b3451.JPG
     
    raYzerman likes this.
  12. TheVallog

    TheVallog New Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for (re) posting this. As owner of 5th Gen VFR I'm getting quite familar with this stuff - but I now have a problem that is slightly off tangent and I'm hoping some electrically minded member can answer this.
    So... I've replaced original rubbish rectifier with Yamaha R1 type (the chunky one you need to cut down a bit) and made up a heavy duty loom wth 12AWG cable and Furukawa connectors to hook it up. All fine for an 800 miles run from South West England to Edinburgh and back. But now new lithium ion battery (so LIGHT!) has gone flat. No charging output. Didn't take too long to figure out why. In line Furukawa fuse holder between rectifier pos DC output and + battery terminal has completely fried inside. Was fitted with 30A blade fuse. Obviously an easy fix - but what might have caused that? Any ideas, anyone?
     
  13. kascro

    kascro New Member

    Country:
    Austria
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I own a 2005 model, somewhere i read that after 2005/2006 the electrical problem was solved.
    Can i somehow make shure my 2005 is a ok without measuring volts and ampere?

    Sent from my GM1917 using Tapatalk
     
  14. Diving Pete

    Diving Pete Member

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,925
    Likes Received:
    536
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    London
    Map
    No - only once the VFR became an 8th Gen.

    Not really, You could look at the stator by pulling the cover off (then replace the gasket. That will let you do a visual check ONLY - sometimes useful.
     
Related Topics

Share This Page