VFR 93 is hard starting.

Discussion in 'Mechanics Garage' started by vfr93, Apr 7, 2010.

1. vfr93

vfr93 New Member

Hi,
    I have a 1993 Vfr 750, and since i bought it about 4 months ago the bike has been very difficult to start. It wont start or even chug when the choke is on although the choke operation seems smooth. I have twice changed the plugs and each time the bike benefitted and became much easier to start but deteriorated over the following days and weeks. It is not too difficult to start when being ridden everyday but when it is left for a day or two it become very difficult. I am a novice when it comes to working on the bike and would appreciate any ideas anyone has??? Cheers

2. betarace

betarace New Member

you shouldnt have the change the plugs so often, but they may provide the clues as to what the problem could be. Have you checked for blockage/flow of the air filter? was the bike properly winterized (either stabil or drain carbs and tank)? would check them and run a tank of seafoam thru to see if that helps. If the plugs are fowling, sounds like air/fuel mix -> carbs to me

3. squirrelman

squirrelman Member

United States
    Map
    Black, sooty plugs= dirty air filter, choke stuck on, very low battery voltage, etc.

Hard starting could be broken choke cable. Do you feel a definite resistance to your pull ??

4. jethro911

jethro911 Member

United States
    Map
    How about a little more detail. Mileage on the bike, maintenance history if you know of any, how does it run when you do get her going, etc. Does it hesitate or backfire when you accelerate or engine brake? Oh yes and pictures of the engine, carbs and the plugs as well as the air filter may provide a few clues for us to work with. Is there any indication that a backyard hack mechanic has worked on it?