Voltmeter Install

Discussion in 'Gear & Accessories' started by Aced It, Jan 22, 2020.

  1. Aced It

    Aced It New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    South Florida
    Map
    If you installed a voltmeter, how did you wire it? Thinking I'll hook it directly to the battery with a toggle switch in-line. Curious to see others doings as I prepare to mount my digital Ebay special.
     
  2. FJ12rydertoo

    FJ12rydertoo Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Platte City, MO
    Map
    I wired mine through a Blue Sea switched fuse box, triggered by the tail light wire.
     
  3. Aced It

    Aced It New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    South Florida
    Map
    I like those fuse boxes. What kind of voltmeter are you using? Are you getting a true reading? The reason I thought of the battery direct was so I can monitor the status of the r/r and stator charging process at static and speed respectively.
     
  4. FJ12rydertoo

    FJ12rydertoo Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Platte City, MO
    Map
    Just a cheapo voltmeter from Datel. I've checked the voltage directly at the battery to compare it
    to the voltmeter and it is within 1-2 tenths of a volt. Close enough for me.
    [​IMG]
     
    Aced It likes this.
  5. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    Datel has a cheap one? Ha. I have collected a few samples from China and will decide which to mount. I like direct wiring w/switch so I can see battery resting voltage with no other influences. Have a fuse panel on my other bike with unswitched power, so went to that. May do same to the Viffer.
     
  6. FJ12rydertoo

    FJ12rydertoo Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Platte City, MO
    Map
    I assumed the Datel was cheap, because I'm a cheap SOB, but it was about 12 years ago, so I could be wrong.
     
  7. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    Datels back in the day were the best in the game and reasonable (~$12??)... new ones are ~$30+. I still consider them the best and most readable... get a knock-off (it's still a Datel) from CycleMax Ohio or one of the Goldwing suppliers like WingStuff or such.
     
  8. Aced It

    Aced It New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    South Florida
    Map
    I installed the meter just below the fuel gauge with 3M double sided tape. Ran the wires directly to the battery with a small toggle switch in-line on the positive wire just under the fuse box on the inside plastic cover. For now I tapped into the 7.5 fuse of my battery tender wire. Verified the reading with my multimeter and it's pretty spot on.
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2020
  9. Norse

    Norse New Member

    Country:
    Denmark
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I actually just did the wiring on mine last night.
    Found a double USB outlet that also has a voltmeter. Wired it to a manual on/off button though a relay, hooked to the headlight.
     
  10. Aced It

    Aced It New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    South Florida
    Map
    I tapped into the headlight, and then the line on my camera system and wasn't getting true readings; about 11V. Thus, going directly to the battery.
     
  11. mello dude

    mello dude Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Southwest Ohio
    Map
    My current setup.....
    [​IMG]

    There are umpteen choices for digital voltmeters on ebay and Amazon for cheap...
     
  12. FJ12rydertoo

    FJ12rydertoo Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Platte City, MO
    Map
    I like the LCD over the LED, but the LCD I tried lasted until the first rainshower. So I ended up with LED.
     
  13. Norse

    Norse New Member

    Country:
    Denmark
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Mine seems fine. The built in voltmeter on the USB outlet is of by 0.13V but it's consistent so that's not a big deal.
    To be fair, I have only tried it with the bike off, as it is currently in my living room. Could be a different story when it is running, so I will keep your input in mind and check when I get it back on the road after winter.
     
  14. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    You really should go to a more direct power source. I have used a combo USB/voltmeter that has a switch on it, reasonably accurate, hardwired direct to my aux. fuse panel (or you could use a fuse tap). If you wire direct, best have a switch you can shut it off with.
     
  15. Aced It

    Aced It New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    South Florida
    Map
    That would be the preferred method. That's what I did.
     
  16. FJ12rydertoo

    FJ12rydertoo Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Platte City, MO
    Map
    Just wondering what the perceived benefit is to wiring direct? All you're really interested in is
    what the voltage is doing, not what the exact voltage is, closer than a tenth or two. You want to
    know that the voltage increases with RPM, to a certain point, and it is remaining constant over time.

    OTOH I think it would take quite a while for the draw from an LED?LCD voltmeter to run the
    battery too far down. But I don't actually know myself. But I do prefer having the voltmeter on a
    switched circuit.
     
  17. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
    It's useful to know the state of battery charge, ignition off and no headlights on..... certainly OK to have it switched if you're just monitoring charge voltage. Personal preference. You could temporarily wire it live and see how long it takes to drop battery voltage to say 12.4-12.5 (50% charge per Yuasa). With just an LED, it will be a few days.
     
  18. RllwJoe

    RllwJoe Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Western Lower Peninsula, Michigan
    Map
    Here is my Voltmeter location. Scrap piece of ABS plastic - with a 90* angle. I used a short section of automotive two sided adhesive tape for external trim to attach it to the front side of the triple tree.
    The power is coming from a relay switched on by the tail-light, connectd directly to the battery.
    The read out on the voltmeter (a cheap ebay unit) is spot on with my multimeter.

    Voltmeter Location.jpg
     
    zombie and Aced It like this.
  19. Aced It

    Aced It New Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    South Florida
    Map
    Here's where I installed the toggle switch, on the inside panel behind the fuse box. Works like a charm. In retrospect, I should have got a voltmeter that was LCD; may still do that. The red LED is hard to see in direct daylight.

    20200127_170612.jpg
     
  20. raYzerman

    raYzerman Insider

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Millgrove, ON
    Map
Related Topics

Share This Page