What is this wire for??

Discussion in '3rd & 4th Generation 1990-1997' started by zoom-zoom, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. zoom-zoom

    zoom-zoom Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Map
    As per the title, does anyone have an idea as to what this wire is for?? From the looks of it the wire feeds in to the bottom of the crankcase on the right side of the bike near the dipstick. My guess would be that it is a sensor of some type but I am not sure what it is for. The wire appears to be frayed and bare. Before I attempt to remove it and repair it, I would like to know what the sensor is for. Attached are some pictures.

    By the way the bike is a 1996 VFR750, in case anyone is wondering. Thanks for the help.



    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. squirrelman

    squirrelman Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,818
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Map
    Probably the neutral sensor..........??
     
  3. squirrelman

    squirrelman Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,818
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Map
    Ez if you reference manual. Gotta be either neutral sensor or oil pressure.:loyal:

    Frayed and bare wire may be rodent damage, ya know ?
     
  4. experience780

    experience780 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    centerville, IA
    .....disarm the bomb?
     
  5. zoom-zoom

    zoom-zoom Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Map
    I checked the wiring diagram in the manual and it appears that the wire is for the neutral switch. Is it possible to replace the wire?? If not, could I wrap it up with some electrical tape to cover the area where the wire is frayed??
     
  6. squirrelman

    squirrelman Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,818
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Map
    Tape should work OK. Shrink tubing too. Did you look carefully for any obviously bitten area that might suggest rodents at play, cuz fraying like that is not usual.

    IMG_2205.jpg

    Squirrel bite marks on a plug wire......

    IMG_0961.jpg
     
  7. ridervfr

    ridervfr Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South FL
    Map
    That wire has a special sheath around it, high quality stuff. Electrical tape? A mouse trap for future visitors? What aboot replacing it?
     
  8. squirrelman

    squirrelman Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,818
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    Map
    It goes way too far back into the harness for that (ithink), but you could put in a new end section.
     
  9. zoom-zoom

    zoom-zoom Member

    Country:
    Canada
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Map
    I checked one of the OEM parts suppliers and it is part of a sub harness that is part of the ignition pulse generator subassembly wiring. I looked at the wiring fairly closely and it appears that all the wire strands are intact just look like they have had the coating rubbed off. There is an odd black weave covering the wire with an actual wire inside. Almost like a braided nylon sheathing. I was able to disconnect the wire end from the side of the engine case and pull it out of the hold down clamps. After that I put some adhesive heat shrink tubing over the area in question and it seems ok. I tried starting the bike and the only thing that happened with the wire disconnected was that the neutral light on the dash did not come on when the bike was in neutral. I was going to order a new stator for it so I think I will go ahead and order the sub harness at the same time just to be safe.
     
  10. ridervfr

    ridervfr Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    South FL
    Map
    Honda uses the word "sub-harness" and you think your getting this mass of wires and plugs when you order it. I did my thermastat and ordered a new sub harness along with a new sensor. The new one was three inches long with two sheathed bullet connectors on each end. It was green and the same material as the one you mentioned above.

    My bike has an entire new wiring harness anyway. I did leave the rear brake sub-harness and the front blinker sub-harness alone. Everything is very bright now including blinkers and brake lights. Anyway, thats another 20 years away for you :thumbsup: cheers.
     
  11. erbilabuc

    erbilabuc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to answer your question that is the neutral switch wire/sensor/lead
     
Related Topics

Share This Page